photo credit: Ken Russell
ABOYNE, Ontario November 25, 2011 - Wellington County Museum and Archives – Opening December 1, discover our special holiday exhibit: Christmas at the Poor House from its earliest years to 1930.
Built in 1877 as a refuge for destitute men, women and children, the original site of the House is the present location of the County Museum and Archives.
When the Poor House opened in December 1877, a special Christmas meal was prepared for the inmates: a dinner of roast beef and plum pudding. Over the years, concerned individuals,
churches and community groups sought to brighten the season for those less fortunate.
“The Poor House was always a part of the community, especially at Christmas time when people visited, brought small gifts and entertained the residents,” stated Curator Susan Dunlop.
If these walls could speak what stories they would tell about the men, women and children who found refuge at the House. Through artifacts and images learn what it meant to be part of Christmas at the Poor House.
The exhibit runs until January 6, 2012.
The Wellington County Museum and Archives is located on Wellington Road #18 between Fergus and Elora. The galleries are open weekdays from 9:30 am to 4:30 pm and 12:00 to 4:00 pm on weekends and holidays.
WELLINGTON COUNTY MUSEUM AND ARCHIVES
0536 Wellington County Road 18
Fergus, Centre Wellington,
Ontario, CANADA N1M 2W3
T 519.846.0916 x 5221
TOLL FREE: 1.800.663.0750 x 5221